The Dealmaker in Chief Is Losing Votes, Here’s Where the Healthcare Bill Stands

posted by Breanna Khorrami 0 comments
Donald Trump - CitizenSlant

As Speaker of the House Paul Ryan made his way to the White House in response to the President’s demand for a personal briefing, he was not going with good news.

As the nation watched Trump put “The Art of the Deal” on full display, it appears that the President’s negotiating skills are more of a myth as they have not played out in reality. In fact, Trump has displayed monumental incompetence all around. In fact, by some accounts, if the House manages to pass the bill, after all, it will be in spite of Trump, not because of him.

The vote was seen by financial markets as a crucial test of Trump’s ability to work with Congress to deliver on his agenda, including planned tax cuts and infrastructure spending. The Dow Jones Industrial Average ended very slightly down on Thursday.

As the clock ticks on Friday toward a vote on the embattled healthcare bill — a vote which Trump demanded — the Speaker and his team have been scrambling to gather votes. And it appears that they are actually losing votes, Art of the Deal and all.

Trump forced the showdown by deciding to cut off negotiations on Thursday night, giving his party an ultimatum to either pass the legislation or move on to the next agenda item (tax reform).

Here is CitizenSlant’s whip count of Republican opposition to the bill as of 2:30 p.m. EST:

  1. Justin Amash, R-Mich.
  2. Mark Amodei, R-Nev.
  3. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz.
  4. Dave Brat, R-Va.
  5. Mo Brooks, R-Ala. 
  6. Rod Blum, R-Iowa
  7. Ted Budd, R-N.C. 
  8. Mike Coffman, R-Colo.
  9. Rick Crawford, R-Ark.
  10. Warren Davidson, R-Ohio
  11. Charlie Dent, R-Pa.
  12. Scott DesJarlais, R-Tenn.
  13. Dan Donovan, R-N.Y.
  14. Sean Duffy, R-Wis.
  15. Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Pa. 
  16. Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-N.J.
  17. Tom Garrett, R-Va. 
  18. Louie Gohmert, R-Tx. 
  19. Paul Gosar, R-Ariz. 
  20. Andy Harris, R-Md. 
  21. Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash.
  22. Walter Jones, R-N.C. 
  23. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio  
  24. John Katko, R-N.Y. 
  25. Raul Labrador, R-Idaho 
  26. Leonard Lance, R-N.J. 
  27. Frank LoBiondo, R-N.J.
  28. Thomas Massie, R-Ky.
  29. Mark Meadows, R-N.C.
  30. Scott Perry, R-Pa. 
  31. Bill Posey, R-Fl.
  32. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Fl. 
  33. Mark Sanford, R-S.C.
  34. Chris Smith (R-NJ)
  35. Glenn Thompson, R-Pa. 
  36. Robert Wittman, R-Va. 
  37. Ted Yoho, R-Fl. 

You may also like

Leave a Comment