Trump’s ‘Revised Travel Ban’ Reportedly Still Targets Same Seven Muslim-Majority Countries

posted by Brandon Mikhail 0 comments
obamacare tax returns trump - citizen slant
Photo: AP

After courts struck down U.S. President Donald Trump’s travel ban, the President went about revising it. However, the new draft still targets the same seven Muslim-majority countries.

As the Associated Press reports,  those traveling to and from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Somalia, Yemen, Libya, and Sudan will be affected as they had been during the previous so-called Muslim ban. However, green-card holders and dual citizens of the United States will not be affected. Additionally, in the revised plan, authorities are not required to identify and reject the visa applications of Syrian refugees.

Despite the change in requirements for Syrian refugees, it is unlikely that many will actually find the asylum they seek in the United States. Trump’s newly drafted executive order did not change the 50,000-per-year refugee cap — a severe restriction when compared to the 110,000-per-year gap instituted by the Obama administration. So far this year, the United States has already taken 35,000 refugees.

Trump’s first travel ban spurred outrage and protest across the country. During the time that it was implemented, many families were separated and travelers from the aforementioned seven countries were held against their will. Furthermore, upwards of 100,000 visas were revoked.

The President reportedly plans to sign his revised travel ban at some point this week.

You may also like

Leave a Comment